Instagram is one of the most popular and successful social media platforms. However, sometimes all that endless scrolling is too distracting or just plain unwanted. In that case, you can always delete your Instagram account.
It’s worth noting that you have two options when it comes to taking an Instagram break. If you think your hiatus is only temporary, you can choose to simply deactivate your account for a while. However, if you’re sure you’re leaving it permanently, you’ll want to delete your account.
Here’s how to delete your Instagram account.
Download your data before deleting your account
Before you proceed with deleting your account, it’s highly recommended that you log into Instagram to download a copy of your data, such as your photos, posts, or other information shared on the platform. Once your account is permanently deleted, access to the data download tool will no longer be available.
In the event of deletion, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes, and follower list will be permanently erased. If you’d rather just take a break, you have the option to temporarily deactivate your account instead of deleting it.
How to Delete Your Instagram Account
- On a desktop or mobile web browser, go to the Instagram website and log in to your account using your username and password. You can’t delete your Instagram account through the mobile app.
- Once logged in, go to the account deletion page.

- From the drop-down menu at the bottom of the screen. Choose the reason why you want to delete your account. Choices range from “Too busy/too distracting” to “Concerned about my data.” If none of the options are correct or you simply prefer not to give a reason, you can select “Something else”.
- Once you have chosen the reason for your deletion, click on “Permanently delete my account”.
If you simply want to deactivate your account, you can do so by logging into your Instagram account on the web, opening your profile, clicking “Edit Profile” on your page, and selecting “Temporarily deactivate my account” on the next page.

You will also need to indicate here the reason why you deactivated your account and confirm your choice. To reactivate your account in the future, simply log in with your username and password as usual.
Duration and conditions of account deletion
The process of deleting your account may take up to 90 days. However, even after this period, copies of your content may remain in our backup systems. These backups are used to restore data in the event of disasters, software errors, or other events that result in data loss.
Furthermore, certain information for delete Instagram account may be retained for legal reasons, to deal with violations of our terms and conditions or as part of risk prevention measures. You can consult our Privacy Policy for more details.
If your account is deleted due to a violation of our Community Standards, you may not be able to reuse the same username when registering again.









